OS install: no more burning CD's!

Posts for topics relating to upgrading and building systems
mSparks
Advanced Member
Posts: 995
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: North West UK
Contact:

Postby mSparks » Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:28 pm

A little treat for those who play with multiple systems.
Ive long since been ever so slightly irrated by the number of CD's I have lying around with all the different operating systems on, and finding/burning new ones can be a real pain.
solution: network install.
if you want this for XP, your probably going to run into problems.. it looks like it requires server2K3 and above. When Ive finished playing I may put a couple of floppy images up that allow you todo it the same way linux does in option 1.
Linux: option 1.
requirements: 2 floppys, a floppy drive, a setup machine with working network and ftp server (you can use NFS or http as well, and http/nfs may be faster, Ill find out shortly)
follow the install guides on making a network boot image on the 2 floppys, for mandrake I used rawwrite (not rawrite) from dosutils to copy th network.img and network_drivers.img
I used Winrar to extract the files from the iso images onto the ftp server. It was then just a case of booting from the network floppy putting in the second when prompted and pointing it at the ftp server, and viola let installation commence.
Option 2:
depending on the network card in the machine to install the OS on, it should also be possible to use DHCP and a tftp server (basicaly ftp using UDP for file transfere, Ill post links at a later date) to bypass the floppies and do the entire thing directly over the network, you need a network card with a boot rom for this (a believe most new machines come with this as standard, but all my net cards are 5-6 years old) Im building one in a few weeks so more news on this then.
fun fun fun
© Mark 'mSparks' Parker 2010
<pubkey>AJXzWKeV59HaoUkmrCwP9f+kMr8aOIM
jMKy7ACsaRDCE/XuF0orj/jActtfWDMKjg/CixI7JP0Z6lbS99dc
86fxDIQOmfIU8BNYKPmlPA/uY3ZpT9/4iQY0XwKad5eJhDFW
cZ2Z4VUWJzlbuoX/QV4ihTVkr9JnyJb+fN9AOqXH9AQAB</pubkey>

User avatar
smurphster
Advanced Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Postby smurphster » Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:20 pm

i wish there was a magic button to switch between OS's on the fly.. that would be fun *sigh*

mSparks
Advanced Member
Posts: 995
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: North West UK
Contact:

Postby mSparks » Sun Apr 11, 2004 2:20 pm

bout the closest we have is a KVM switch....
or maybee an automatic chair to take you from one side of the room to another
© Mark 'mSparks' Parker 2010

<pubkey>AJXzWKeV59HaoUkmrCwP9f+kMr8aOIM
jMKy7ACsaRDCE/XuF0orj/jActtfWDMKjg/CixI7JP0Z6lbS99dc
86fxDIQOmfIU8BNYKPmlPA/uY3ZpT9/4iQY0XwKad5eJhDFW
cZ2Z4VUWJzlbuoX/QV4ihTVkr9JnyJb+fN9AOqXH9AQAB</pubkey>

User avatar
slacker
Advanced Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby slacker » Mon Apr 12, 2004 12:58 am

vnc isnt tooooo bad.. i dont find it usable, however, i reckon if i configured it for LAN settings it'd be smoothe enough for operation?
<a href='http://www.partydome.us/' target='_blank'>http://www.partydome.us/</a>


Return to “Systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest