Linux services

Post general help requests here
User avatar
smurphster
Advanced Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Postby smurphster » Wed Jan 29, 2003 6:08 am

How do you change the options of services that are started at boot? Its not in linuxconf or mandrake control center... I can't find it anywhere!

reason:
I have "vncserver" starting at boot but I need to add an option to it so it looks like "vncserver - interface 192.168.0.1"

mSparks
Advanced Member
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: North West UK
Contact:

Postby mSparks » Wed Jan 29, 2003 2:29 pm

it depends on the service, and the installation...
basically, you'll have to read the man pages on the particular service, the services read their config from setup files (much like quake 2 servers :P) its been a while since I had a play, but one thing i remember is it can be a nightmare to find them (lots of man pages give example directories, but they are rarely the right ones) usually once you find the directory that one is in, it'll be the same for the rest of them.

Linuxconf, should give you the option to edit the services, but it always used to take me about three hours to find how to edit each service, and linux conf rarely worked.
© Mark 'mSparks' Parker 2010
<pubkey>AJXzWKeV59HaoUkmrCwP9f+kMr8aOIM
jMKy7ACsaRDCE/XuF0orj/jActtfWDMKjg/CixI7JP0Z6lbS99dc
86fxDIQOmfIU8BNYKPmlPA/uY3ZpT9/4iQY0XwKad5eJhDFW
cZ2Z4VUWJzlbuoX/QV4ihTVkr9JnyJb+fN9AOqXH9AQAB</pubkey>

mSparks
Advanced Member
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: North West UK
Contact:

Postby mSparks » Wed Jan 29, 2003 2:34 pm

I'm probably going to set up one of the machines to dual boot mandrake, I've still got copies of the three CD's for 8.2 and probably got a hdd I can spare, I'm tempted to start selling machines with mandrake on, but i'll probably wait for the next release, and buy the full version, because it comes with fully printed documentation that will make support much easier.
© Mark 'mSparks' Parker 2010

<pubkey>AJXzWKeV59HaoUkmrCwP9f+kMr8aOIM
jMKy7ACsaRDCE/XuF0orj/jActtfWDMKjg/CixI7JP0Z6lbS99dc
86fxDIQOmfIU8BNYKPmlPA/uY3ZpT9/4iQY0XwKad5eJhDFW
cZ2Z4VUWJzlbuoX/QV4ihTVkr9JnyJb+fN9AOqXH9AQAB</pubkey>

User avatar
smurphster
Advanced Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Postby smurphster » Wed Jan 29, 2003 5:39 pm

i downloaded 9.0 but the cd's keep giving me errors during install. the OS doesn't boot after that and the only way to fix it is to format & reinstall. its probably either my old burner or the really old cdrom on my server. heh

mSparks
Advanced Member
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: North West UK
Contact:

Postby mSparks » Wed Jan 29, 2003 9:16 pm

I had something similar with 8.2, it was just a faulty CD, that hadn't burned correctly.
btw, did you no the new version of winRAR lets you browse the contents of .iso files :)
© Mark 'mSparks' Parker 2010

<pubkey>AJXzWKeV59HaoUkmrCwP9f+kMr8aOIM
jMKy7ACsaRDCE/XuF0orj/jActtfWDMKjg/CixI7JP0Z6lbS99dc
86fxDIQOmfIU8BNYKPmlPA/uY3ZpT9/4iQY0XwKad5eJhDFW
cZ2Z4VUWJzlbuoX/QV4ihTVkr9JnyJb+fN9AOqXH9AQAB</pubkey>

User avatar
smurphster
Advanced Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Postby smurphster » Thu Jan 30, 2003 7:14 pm

very interesting


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest